Cambrian Heritage Railways
At the Cambrian Heritage Railways, work is being undertaken to secure the restoration of the Cambrian Railways to preserve the unique Railway Heritage of Oswestry and to provide a visitor attraction of national significance. Fun and education wrapped up into one! Visitors can enjoy short train rides and learn about the history of this important heritage in the exhibits found in the museum and buildings.
The impressive Cambrian Station building has been recently restored and brought back into use for short train rides. In due course, it is hoped to return the area to more authentic use to include the display of appropriate rolling stock, plus the possibility of restoring the livestock pens to reflect the importance of farming on the local community.
The Museum exhibits memorabilia associated with the railway system operated by the Cambrian Railways Company and its successors, together with other items of railway interest. Housed in a former goods depot constructed in the 1860’s, it tells something of the history of a railway system that in its heyday extended to almost 300 route miles largely in Wales, stretching from Whitchurch in the east to Aberystwyth in the west and from Pwllheli in the north to Brecon in the south.
Besides numerous photographs, signs, lamps and signal box fittings, the collection includes a huge miscellany of unusual items, ranging from a G.W.R. pen nib, to the headboard first used on the Royal Train when the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) visited Aberystwyth in 1896 for installation as Chancellor of the University.